Author:
Mike Adams
1/08/2009

People milling around the Apple Booth at Macworld 2009

People milling around the Apple Booth at Macworld 2009

We came, we saw, we went home. Sadly, this year’s Macworld didn’t seem to have the excitement in the air that even last year’s Macworld had. (This year’s Macworld and last year’s Macworld are the only shows that I have had the honor of attending.) Last year there was an extreme interest in the brand new MacBook Air, so the show floor was buzzing with excitement. This year, it seemed like even Apple knew that they really didn’t have any BIG thing at the show, as they were still heavily touting the “new” iPod Nano…you know…the one they released in September of last year.

I am definitely not saying that Apple didn’t have anything to show. In fact, they did unveil the new 17” MacBook Pro, (which I have stated previously I believe should have been unveiled with the new MacBook and MacBook Pros last year, but I digress). The exciting thing about the technology in the new MacBook Pro is the fact that it now has an 8 hour life cycle between charges. That’s right, an 8 hour battery charge! The fact that the battery is now an internal, non-swappable one does not deter my excitement over the fact that Apple has created a battery that lasts so long, AND is supposed to get up to 1,000 charges and last for 5 years. And maybe I am just a sucker for all things Apple, but I even like the new Learn to play feature of Garageband ’09 and can’t wait to dive into the new features in iMovie ‘09.

I'm looking forward to iMovie '09

I'm looking forward to iMovie '09

As for the rest of the show, it really felt like a been there done that environment. For me, the standout of the show was Filemaker’s Bento 2, but even that was released quite a while back. Before Macworld, I had not seen it in action, and now that I have, I really do kind of want it. The drag and drop ease of making your forms and database functional appears to be so simple, no programming skill required (like in MS Access or Bento’s big brother Filemaker Pro). I see some real use for this program at work.

Another couple of standouts included a couple of things that LaCie and Kensington were doing. LaCie has a new flash drive line entitled “CurrenKey”. They are 4GB and 8GB flash drives designed to look like currency. It currently retails for $19.99 for the 4GB and $29.99 for the 8GB. At Kensington, they have a sweet new trackball, the “SlimBlade Trackball”. I am usually not a fan of trackballs, but from what little time I got to spend with this one, I like it quite a bit. The ball moves smooth like butter, and the base it sits in features four giant programmable buttons. Very comfortable and smooth, I like it.

So to wrap up, we saw lots of new bags, carrying cases, iPod accessories, updates to existing software (i.e. Bento 2, Filemaker Pro 10, Roxio Toast 10, iLife ’09, iWork ’09), and very little new hardware. I will admit, I even broke down and bought a Marware Sport Grip for my 2G iPod Touch. So besides the couple of cool items I mentioned earlier (especially the new battery in the 17” MacBook Pro), this year’s show, again, felt like another been there done that kind event. But, with all this in mind, I am still very curious to see what Macworld does next year without the Apple’s presence and I am looking forward to the 2010 show. Let’s see how that goes…

