Author:
Mike Adams
02/03/2009

The Logitech MX620 Cordless Laser Mouse

The Logitech MX620 Cordless Laser Mouse

I’ll be the first to admit, I barely know the first thing about polling rates and high dpi when it comes to mice. The man who knows that kind of stuff would be the TechHub’s very own Yan Lin, a man I am in awe of when it comes to technical knowledge. I just know when I like a mouse, and when I don’t like a mouse. What feels comfortable, and what does not. The Logitech MX620 Cordless Laser Mouse is a mouse I like.

When I first bought my MacBook almost 2 years ago, I bought one of the Microsoft Notebook mice, which is a wired mouse. Now, on this mouse, the USB cable was very short. Especially when the USB port is on the left side of the MacBook and I am right handed. This does not give much leeway in the area of mouse movement, but it was supposed to be a temporary solution to not using the trackpad on MacBook itself. I used this mouse for about a year, which was about 8 months too long.

Figure 1A

Figure 1A

When I finally decided to upgrade, I decided I needed a wireless mouse. I was also looking for a mouse that would fit my hand comfortably, whereas the MS notebook mouse was very small and my hand felt cramped after long periods of use. So when I noticed the MX620 in the shop, I was instantly attracted to the size of the mouse and the way it fit my hand very well (see Figure 1A). It was incredibly comfortable in my hand. The USB “dongle” was much smaller than other wireless receivers with the other mice, making it very unobtrusive. The “Hyper-fast” scroll wheel on the unit is very handy when scrolling through very large MS Excel spreadsheets, and it is a feature I like a lot. The box claims that the battery should “last up to one year”, but under very heavy use, I was able to squeeze 6 months of battery life out of it. I think that is pretty good myself…not great, but pretty good.

Figure 1B

Figure 1B

There are a couple of negative things I do have to say about the mouse though. First, and most important, make sure the area you use the mouse on is well dusted, because dust can collect on the laser (see Figure 1B) and you will have to use canned air to blow it out. Also, I use the mouse on a Mac, and there are certain features that I do not seem to be able to use (i.e. the search button on the mouse). And last, but not least, this mouse is a bit bulky for travel, but I put up with it because I do love this mouse so much. Overall, this mouse is a great product, with a few negative attributes, but you would not feel bad about buying.

Pros:

  • The mouse fits your hand like a glove…so very comfortable.
  • ”Hyper-scroll” wheel is a fantastic feature when searching through long .PDF and MS Excel spreadsheets.
  • Small wireless receiver is very unobtrusive, especially when compared to other mice.
  • Overall quality of the mouse is fantastic.

Cons:

  • Must use on a dust free area, as the dust will wind up collecting on the laser.
  • Some features on mouse not available on the Mac.
  • Large for traveling.
