HeatShift Cooling Pad

HeatShift Cooling Pad

Author:
Michael Kelley
09/02/2009

Hi there, my name is Michael Kelley and today I would like to talk to you all about a common problem with portable computing…overheating. Here at the TechHub we have a range of different cooling methods, but one in particular stands above the rest, the ThermaPAK HeatShift cooling pad.

Right off the bat, I want to say that this is a great product. I never grab my laptop without grabbing my ThermaPAK too. This thing rocks…it really does what it is advertised to do. It is made of a safe, laboratory tested chemical (aka Sodium sulfate decahydrate or, for the layman, Glauber’s salt) that has been proven to lower temperatures. It requires no power, no refrigeration, and generates no noise. It can be used on any machine or even gaming consoles, just lay your machine on top and let the magic crystals do their job.

One of the greatest benefits I have noticed while using my HP notebook is this keeps my fans from ever kicking into high gear even when lying in bed or on the couch. Thanks to this it now runs normally around 10-20C cooler than before even after a few hrs of use. This product is a must have for any Mac owners who like to keep their machine from overheating and failing or even just to keep from burning your legs. The laptop can slip around a bit when not on stable ground, but a good set of rubberized feet like on the bottom of a Macbook or an HP works fairly well. Overall, I can’t say how much I enjoy this cooling pad. If you want to get your hands on one, just go here.

Pros:

  • Actually keeps your computer cool!
  • No USB port needed, and no moving parts at all.
  • Since there are no moving parts, there is no noise.
  • Air pockets located on the pad make it usable for regular PC laptops as well.

Cons:

  • Seems a little pricy for what is there. At least the USB powered ones in the same price range come with extra USB ports.
  • Slippery surface that the computer sits on. Make sure you have rubber feet on the bottom to prevent sliding.
