Author:
Lyia Jalao
03/02/2010

Lyia being the nerd that she is (taken with her Canon PowerShot 1200 IS)

Lyia being the nerd that she is (taken with her Canon PowerShot 1200 IS)

I’m not going to lie, I like to take pictures whether I’m in the picture or the one taking the picture. I love the camera, not because I’m going to be taking a ridiculous amount of pictures of myself, but because I can capture the moments in life that I’ll forget. It could be my little brother’s birthday, or the last shot of my grandma, or the Euro-trip my friends and I took. Whatever the occasion, you can bet that I will have my camera on me…you never know what you are going to miss! However, it does matter what kind of camera takes those pictures. There’s the fancy $1,000 camera that takes amazing pictures then there’s the humble $200 camera that gets the job done with amazing pictures to boot, and that camera is the Canon PowerShot SD1200 IS. I have used plenty of cameras and have had plenty of recommendations but I never really bothered to buy a new one, until now.

For one, it is a better replacement for the old camera that I had for 5 years. I had a Nikon Coolpix, one of the very first digital cameras to come out and it was a great investment. Not only did it take great pictures, but it was a Nikon. It cost me a lot of money, but after 5 long years of hard use, all that money was worth it. However, it was dying on me. I had to replace the batteries after half a day of use, the lens was getting stuck constantly whenever I turned it on, and the screen was so small I could barely see the photo I had taken. I finally cracked and decided to invest in a new digital camera. After a lot of research and waiting and drooling over all the expensive digital cameras, I opted for a Canon PowerShot SD1200 IS that had 10 megapixels. Not only did it have good reviews from other people but the price was decent, especially in these hard economic times where it is all about investment and buying the right products to last a long time.

Some of the features that I found lovely on the Canon Powershot when I bought it was that it has a large screen, it does not have a bunch of confusing dials to select from, and it comes with a rechargeable battery. The large screen allows me to see my pictures easier and clearer, something my old camera did not allow for. There are a couple of selections on the camera. One is the Auto button, so it’s the easier one to use, and another one is the more advanced option where you can configure the camera settings to suit your personal taste. The rechargeable battery that it comes with is eco-friendly and it saves you money! Its lithium ion battery charger and the battery will last for a week or more (that’s how long I used it before I had to recharge again). One thing I did find annoying about the camera was that the lens would refocus and refocus (which made some of the pictures come out blurry), but when it did focus the clarity of the pictures was phenomenal. You just need to watch how it will adjust to the refocusing and it shouldn’t be a problem.

With the rechargeable battery, a great large screen and 10 megapixels, the Canon PowerShot SD1200 IS is amazing. I love it that it’s durable and will capture all the right moments in my life. It’s sleek and small which fits everywhere. I can’t complain and I’m sure that anyone who buys this won’t be disappointed either.

Pros:

  • Great Price
  • Comes with rechargeable battery (eco-friendly!), large screen and 10 Megapixels
  • Small and compact, goes with me everywhere

Cons:

  • Focusing problems- takes a few seconds for the picture to come into focus. Once it does though, it looks amazing!
